Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newbie_ca

help! what's wrong with my orange tree? with pics

newbie_ca
11 years ago

hi all, I'm new to citrus growing, and I'm having a hard time diagnosing what is wrong with this orange tree in my house in Palm Springs, CA. I wonder if you guys could take a look at the pics and let me know if you see anything obvious.

Background:

- bought the house 3 years ago, and this tree is probably 10-15 years old; desert-like soil, with plenty of sun and plenty of water (daily drip irrigation); hard water though; I don't really know the quality of the soil

- tree is 9 feet high and bloomed nicely, but very few fruit set; last year it produced less than 20 oranges, this year is even less;

- there's something obviously wrong with the tree ... the leaves that look fine are of a light green color, when compared to the neighbors' lush dark green citrus trees; many leaves are yellowish and others have other issues; the tree doesn't seem to have grown in 3 years

- I have put 3 fertilizer spikes around the tree, watering the spots weekly; this was 6 weeks ago; after that, I'm seeing some curling, but the soil doesn't seem to be soaked; I can't tell whether the fertilization is having any effect; how long should it take for fertilization to show results?

- the gardener put a lot of river rock all over the place, covering the soil right under the tree; is that a no-no? should I remove them?

- It seems there's some disease going on ... the leaves show different problems.

The pics are here:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/f19ykyxm4z3762o/qh0kcPgq_L

I really don't know where to turn ... my gardener doesn't seem to know much about citrus, and I can't find a local resource to come to the house and take a look.

Let me know if you have any ideas/tips ... much appreciated!

Gil

gmont66 at yahoo

Here is a link that might be useful: orange tree leaves

Comments (5)

• keithdphan
    11 years ago