Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
azhighcountry

Indoor Orange Tree Growth

azhighcountry
10 years ago

Hello,

I have grown a Valencia orange tree from a seed. The tree is indoors in a large pot and is currently 50" tall from the root base. The top 18" of the tree has been growing to the right rather than up and continues to grow to the right side. There has been 6" of new growth in the last few weeks but the new growth is also leaning towards the right. Should I let the tree grow as is or attempt to straighten out the the top with a stake so that the tree grows upwards?

This is my first attempt at growing a citrus tree so I am not sure how these trees normally grow or if a stake is needed. I have attached a picture of the tree.

Thanks.

Comments (19)

• poncirusguy6b452xx
    10 years ago

No need to stake it but if you want to it no reason not to, I don't see a zone listed for you. That can make a difference on how you grow it. Do you have height limitation, 8 FT, !0 FT, vaulted ceiling. Will it fit in a window. Is it down south on a 10TH floor balcony in a high rise, No need to bring it in. In my personal situation its on top of my flat roof where it can get light. The choice is yours. Either choice is good.

Very nice looking tree and good luck with it

• azhighcountry
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks for the information. Sorry I left out the zone. I live in Flagstaff, Arizona at 7,000 ft elevation which I believe used to be classified zone 5 but was reclassified as zone 6 in recent years. Temperatures in the winter can get cold at night into the sub-zero range while generally in the 70-80's during the days of the summer months. The cold winter weather is why I decided to grow indoors.