Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shadyatbest

forcing new growth with rooting hormone.

ShadyAtBest
9 years ago

I have a three year old potted satsuma that seems to like growing to the side. I have been hoping for the past two years that it would sprout a few limbs from the empty side to help balance it out.
A few days ago I was trying to stimulate my orchids with some keiki paste. It's some sort of rooting hormone in gel form. I thought that I might try it on my Mandarin.
So I took a cotton swab and wiped a little bit in many places on the bark. I stopped it where I thought nodes should be and other places.
That was last Sunday and now my tree is sprouting buds everywhere I put the solution. It's pretty cool, check it out.

This post was edited by ShadyAtBest on Sat, Jul 12, 14 at 0:25

Comments (18)

• ShadyAtBest
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Look close. You can see the nodes popping out

• kev122
    9 years ago

That is great! Please keep us up to date with the growth. Kev

• JCitrus
    9 years ago

Super cool, please keep us updated

• starloc
    9 years ago

Looking it up Keiki paste is a cytokinin based product

Cytokinin is a hormone used to force branching, its great on most plants, It is what is used in micropropagation in agar to grow many genetic copies of a shoot, before changing agar solution to one containing an Auxin such as IBA ( used as rooting agent )

I have used it for years, its great on most plants, roses etc

You can get the pure chemical on ebay kinetin or cytokinin , or use coconut miilk as a natural alternative

You can mix it with tiny bits of GA3 ( gibberelic acid ) to make the shoots grow longer at the same time, but best stick to just cytokinin

There are loads of videos on youtube under micro propagation that shows what each hormone does in vitro , all can be used on a growing plant as well

• petrushka (7b)
    9 years ago

i am very curious, how would you use coconut milk?
    i went and read about cytokinins.