Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
granburyflowergirl

Which potting mix do you prefer for Citrus and why?

granburyflowergirl
13 years ago

Hi folks,

I am new to citrus in containers and I am trying to decide whether to pot my plants in the gritty mix or the 5:1:1 or ??? Please bear with me - I digest this stuff slowly!

I have access to all of the recommended ingredients for both of Al's mixes so that is not a concern. I would like to know the pros and cons of using each mix for citrus plants specifically and what adaptations you have found to be useful specific to citrus needs.

My ultimate goal is less work down the road as I have plenty of time now but I am hoping to be employed again by next year. I will have an automatic drip irrigation so watering frequency is not a concern

Can you wait longer between re-pots and root-pruning with the gritty or the 5:1:1? I have all dwarf or semi-dwarf trees and I want healthy plants and some fruit but I don't need huge super-plants as they will likely need to be moved in the winter (subject of my next post!).

Thanks for any help!

Nikki

Comments (51)

• meyermike_1micha
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Not to foget the lack of salt build up if any at all form fertilizers.

Being able to fertilize at every watering without fear of over doing it.

Ph is always perfect until it starts to age, and all you have to do is use vinegar.

Love the color!

No place for Fungas Gnats, not in mine anyways.

Mix falls away from the roots during transplant time to expose beautiful healthy white ones.

Rapid growth and plants vitality are increased.

Many more Pro's..

Cons:
    It is a pain in the neck to make with out strainers.
    It is a pain in the neck to make when I am lazy and don't feel like mixing more.
    If can take a bit of practice to make before one get's it right off the bat.
    Watering can be tricky at first without wooden dowels.
    Pots can be heavy in the gritty mix if large..
    That is it..