Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
luftbert

Meyer Lemon...Pruning Apocalypse?

Luftbert
11 years ago

I am a citrus newbie.

We have had this Meyer lemon tree in San Francisco for around 7 or 8 years. As you may know, we don't really have seasons. The tree was always prolific. A year or 2 ago I gave it a relatively heavy pruning to reduce bulk (who knew!?). I also had a stage (can't recall if it was before or after the pruning) when I plucked around half the the blossoms, on advice that it would reduce the number of lemons and increase the size. It has basically stopped producing. It produced some small, narrow lemons for a while. Now, there are some blossoms and some green lemon nubs that don't seem to go anywhere. It is healthy and putting on bulk, but no fruit. I understand the pruning could have been a mistake. I have never seriously fertilized it, but the soil is good and I have always casually fertilized it (e.g., aquarium water, left over ash, etc.) What to do?

Comments (7)

• johnmerr
    11 years ago

What to do is fertilize it!! The color looks good; but it should get a good balanced citrus fertilizer 3 times per year, applied according to the label at the dripline of the tree. Then you will get fruits, not just a pretty green plant. Pruning is not a problem; you can prune it how you like for shape, or just leave it alone.

• Luftbert
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you. I am happy to do that, and it may well be the answer. But I don't get how it never needed fertilizer before, but now apparently it does. Makes me suspect that is not the cause of the change. But no point in hypothesizing and not fertilizing..... Thanks again

• meyermike_1micha
    11 years ago

Well, I am not sure if the same holds true for ground plants as potted ones, but I would think so.