Return to the Citrus Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
HELP with my new meyer lemon tree

Posted by lemontreenewbie California (My Page) on
Sun, Jul 27, 14 at 15:55

Hi, any advice you all could give me would be greatly appreciated. I have tried reviewing other topics and the web in general, but am overwhelmed by different opinions, and conflicting advice.

I am a complete novice. I have a townhouse with a nice patio, and have recently bought several plants, and two citrus, a Valencia orange and a Meyer lemon. I has to search for a month for one of any size, they are all sold out in my area. It is 15 gallons, not sure how old.

1) I was told to water it only when top soil is dry 4 inches down, likely once a week or so. I bought a meter and check every other day, and it seems to register dry every three days or so. I water well and slowly with two watering cans of water. Some water drains out. It's averaged 80+ degrees three weeks I've had it and it gets 6-8 hours of good hot sun. Am I overwatering? Is my meter flawed?

2) It has one large green lemon, two small egg sized one, and maybe 20 tiny ones in clusters. But, no flowers anywhere. When should it flower? I really want lots of lemons, which is why I got such a large tree, but I see others at nursery now in bloom.

3) should I fertilize it? It says on tag attached that fertilizing while setting fruit may cause fruit drop. What does that mean? Am I supposed to wait until harvest to feed it. That would be months away.

4) leaf miners are rampant here, and the nursery says they can't stop it. It only on a few leaves, so I sprayed it with spinosad, but I believe that has stained the leaves now. I wiped it off all the leaves after a week, and some seem discolored now. Should I be concerned? Should I continue to spray?

I will post photos next.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: HELP with my new meyer lemon tree

Smaller Valencia

o

Cluster, and you can see how spinosad stained leaves

o

Leaf miner?

o

Miner?

o