Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
k9fan

Container kumquat leaves yellowing, drooping

k9fan
10 years ago

My kumquat's leaves are drooping on their stems and beginning to yellow, and I'm afraid they're about to start falling. It's mid-summer and the tree gets plenty of sun. I may have been over-watering it, but the container lemon tree right next to it has healthy-looking leaves. I have fed both trees with citrus food about once a month for the past two months.

This kumquat was given to me a couple of years ago and has never produced any fruit, by the way. Any ideas of what I should do to help it?

Comments (7)

• susanne42
    10 years ago

are you sure this is a kumquat tree? the leafs on my kumquat are smaller and more roundish.
    maybe too much water damaged the roots.

• Seasyde
    10 years ago

I'm no expert, but thanks to this forum I realized my kumquat was being seriously underfed and underwatered. I've rectified that and the tree is much happier.

• User
    10 years ago

When you feel the soil, is it dry or moist? Gently penetrate the surface a bit to the just below the surface. If it is dry, your plant is not getting enough water. If moist, your plant has suffered some root damage and just reduce watering. Also, remove the weeds that are growing on the surface as they compete with the plant for food and water. We get to see a lot of Citrus that seem very similar in appearance. Unfortunately, some very common store-bought soil mixes are just awful--basically being peat moss. Outside, in the sun, peat moss, once dried, becomes very difficult to rehydrate. So, peaty mixes either stay wet too long once wet OR, are very resistant to water once sun baked! For all the fretting over Citrus-specific soils (gritty mix devotees, etc.), Citrus are really quite tolerant of a broad range of soils--as long as it drains well. Do you know anything about the soil used?

• k9fan
    Original Author
    10 years ago