Return to the Citrus Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
511 mix for my container meyer lemon

Posted by KHershey 5 (My Page) on
Wed, Jul 30, 14 at 16:48

Hello!
Total garden/citrus newbie here.
I know there a tons of posts on this already, but I'm so new at this, I'm looking for some short and simple answers to help my poor aching brain.
In my previous searches through this forum's posts in search of a reason behind yellow leaf spots on my lemon tree (turns out it's spider mites) - I noticed LOTS of posts about 511 mix and gritty mix.
When I potted up my lemon tree, since didn't know differently, I used Miracle Gro Cactus/Succulent mix. I've read lots of posts about how this is a terrible mix to use when growing citrus since it retains too much water around the roots.
I've read as much as my inexperienced brain can handle on porosity, aeration, pH balances, and I'm still quite lost.
Based on what I DO understand, I'm considering re-potting my Meyer Lemon after finishing up treatment for spider mites, but I want to make sure I'm doing the right thing.
As I understand it, between gritty mix and 511, the 511 is lighter, and holds more moisture than the gritty mix, but gritty mix is better for citrus because of drainage and aeration. Since I'm worried moving the weight of the gritty mix around, and I tend to under-water - I'm leaning toward the 511.
What I'm asking is: is a 511 mix ok for a two year old lemon tree after being in Miracle Gro? Is there a right mix or wrong mix here - am I making a wrong choice? How will this affect my tree's fertilizer? I currently water every 7-10 days with DynaGro Foliage Pro liquid fertilizer in it.
I love my lemon tree and want to do right for it, but I'm so new at this that I'm very unsure. Looking for some straight-forward advice from someone who knows what they're doing. :) I included a pic of my tree so people could tell what I'm working with. My tree is by a South facing window with an East window on one side.

Follow-Up Postings:

o