Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bigjoe8504

New to tree growing

BigJoe8504
9 years ago

Well to be more honest, I'm new to Fruit/Citrus tree growing. I've always wanted my own Lemon tree(s) and several other fruits/citrus. I have a few questions if someone doesn't mind taking the time to help.

I've been told many times over if I want a classic sour tasting lemon then a Meyer is not for me, is this true. If so then what would be a better variety for me (eureka?). I plan to plant a small patch of trees on my property to make it a small orchard. is there any reason I shouldn't be able to place these trees 8-9ft from one another if I'm planting in the ground (or raised beds) If I have Lemons next to orange or Limes will there be any adverse effects? What should I fertilize my dirt (lot of clay, but on top of a hill) with? How many lemons can I expect to come off the tree every year after a few years growth?

And last but not least, has anyone ever tried growing a citrus in Hydro/aquaponics?

Comments (11)

• poncirusguy6b452xx
    9 years ago

Zone 8B-9A You will have to choose your trees carefully or they will need winter protection from time to time. There are cold hardy lemons that are antiques. They should prove to be just as awful as your standard eureka. Check out Stan Mckenzie-Farms He specializes in cold hardy citrus at fair prices

http://mckenzie-farms.com/about.htm

http://www.plantfolks.com/

http://mrtexascitrus.weebly.com/citrusvarieties.html

yes people do Hydro/aquaponics growing. You will have to augment your fish grow to provide the missing ingredients needed by your citrus

• BigJoe8504
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Aweful? Why would I want Aweful? and to what basis are you calling aweful? I want a Sour (not sweet) Lemon. Tartness enough to make someone squint a bit when eating, but not to the degree of bitter. What type would you recommend for the flavor, I'll deal with cold zones later. If it must be indoors, I can handle that.