Return to the Citrus Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Eureka Dwarf Lemon - Graft line help

Posted by zohar CA, East Bay (My Page) on
Sun, Jul 13, 14 at 19:19

Hi,

I planted 16 months ago a Eureka Dwarf bought at Lowe's. The tree is growing like no tomorrow and now 6 feet. TheA branch is the dominate but the B branch also growing more or less the same. Leaves are the same. Can I tell if A (or B) are good or just a root stock?

Regards,
Zohar

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Eureka Dwarf Lemon - Graft line help

inside the circle

Steve

o

Second that

ditto

I agree with the assessment

o

Steve and Scott, thank you so much, you input is highly appreciated. I will keep the tree and hopeful will have lemons sometime.

It is growing very much. Do I need to put it under stress in order to have flowers?

Thanks,
Zohar

o

What are the numbers on your fertilizer?

o

My tree, like me, does not like stress, It stresses us out.

But I'm no expert, just a tree owner, who posts on a forum.

o

Do NOT stress your tree. It is already of bearing age. I plan to stress my juvenile tree to see ir it will flower for its first time.

Steve

o

Zohar, stressing your tree is not the way to develop fruit. Providing good nutrition, adequate water and plenty of sunshine are the keys. I would consider mulching under your tree to conserve water (I see the cracks in your soil), unless you're on clay. Which may cause too much water retention. Be sure to fertilize every 3 months with the appropriate amount of a good quality citrus fertilizer that has the proper NPK ratio, along with a full complement of micronutrients. Your tree is young, and it will flower and fruit if you provide it what it needs.

Patty S.

o

Hi All,