Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jacinto_gw

Lemon Tree

jacinto
12 years ago

Hi,

I just purchased my first house and am trying to start getting some fruit trees and vegetable plants growing in my backyard. I just got a lime tree and a bunch of cucumber and tomato plants but wanted to try my hand at something a bit bigger such as a lemon tree. I have looked around the forum but cant really seem to find the answer to my questions as I am a newbie. Also I would like to get an avocado tree same questions apply if anyone knows. I live in los angeles

What type of lemon tree should I plant?

How much space do I need?

What do I have to do to keep the plant healthy?

When should I plant?

Any good books that tackle issues such as this?

What size should I buy it at...Should I get one in 3, 5 gallon?

Thanks for the help!

Comments (6)

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Consider an Improved Meyer lemon for your first lemon tree. They are very forgiving, and also are big producers. You can purchase just about any citrus on dwarfing rootstock, which will help to keep your tree a little smaller, if size is an issue. Pruning can too, but know it will also cause a reduced harvest, at least for a season, maybe two. Avocados tend to be large trees, so consider a smaller, more compact variety, such as Littlecado (Wurtz) or Holiday, unless you have a fairly large area to dedicate to an avocado. If you can purchase in 5 gal containers, you'll get an established tree that will produce next season for you. Avocados do better with a cross-pollinator. They are divided into A and B types, so it can help if you have one of each, unless you have other avocados nearby that can provide cross pollination for you.