Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
redfoxva

Citrus in VA

redfoxva
13 years ago

Hi there, I am an amateur gardener in coastal virginia who wishes to grow some citrus, especially hard to find varieties. I am planning on potting a Moro Blood Orange Dwarf from Four Winds growers, can anyone recommend them? My other question is, I know somewhat beaten to death, is the possibility of growing Yuzu or Satsuma here. We rarely get below 0ºF here for extended periods, but have VERY hot summers with several days of 101ºF a year. I can see Yuzu being very hardy here, with adequate protection for a few years (Mulching, X-mas lights and even frost covers) But satsuma would be good too. I want to know if anyone else has attempted this, and any advice ?

Comments (10)

• mgk65
    13 years ago

Check out the link below for info in yuzu and satsuma in SC.

Four Winds has a very good reputation.

Here is a link that might be useful: mckenzie farms

• User
    13 years ago

If you have good soil and a good microclimate (south side of building, etc.), I bet you could pull it off the Sasuma in coastal Va. Also, you might consider kumquats--very hardy, pest resistant (especially compared to true Citrus), and relatively miniature so even easier to protect in the event of rare, extreme cold.--They, like the Satsuma also are known for holding on to their fruit for a long time. I love them! Good luck!

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    13 years ago

Hey there, Redfox!

I live in Mandarin country, here in the California foothills, and it definitely
    breaks 100°F every summer. Our cold (18°F this winter) isn't as cold as yours, though,
    so you'll need a protection plan.

I bought my first citrus this spring - a Four Winds Blood orange - and I couldn't be happier.

Josh

• trianglejohn
    13 years ago