Return to the Citrus Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Meyer Lemons not ripening

Posted by lizzie1 9 (My Page) on
Thu, Jul 9, 09 at 22:57

First off, I'm a novice gardener, at best. That being said, please let me know if this is normal for a newish tree, or if I need to be doing something.

I bought a little meyer lemon tree late last summer. It's grown like crazy & has tons of fruit ranging in size from 'full-grown' to still blossoms. I got rid of the branches that were not producing anything, but were sprouting up to about 7 or 8 ft. & seemed to be sapping the tree.

Problem is that none the fruit seems to want to ripen. There are about 5-8 lemons on the tree that are easily large enough, but they are all still significantly green.

The tree is in a pot (about 30ish gallons, I think. maybe more) on the south-facing side of the house, so gets LOTS of sun almost all day. I water about once/week (more if it's beastly hot) & have fertilized w/ an organic citrus fertilizer 3x's since purchasing.

I hope this is enough info to go on.

Thanks for any input!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Meyer Lemons not ripening

Hi, No expert, but from my experience its taken almost 9 months or more for me(FL). I'm sure the climate has a lot to do with it. I've read an article that says it can sometimes take up to a year for a Meyer fruit to ripen?

I actually had to move my ML under some Oak trees because it was getting too much sun! I had it sitting on a cement patio and the leaves were getting yellow and I was watering it two times a day, I think it was baking on that patio! Once I moved it under some trees(now it only gets 4-5) hours of morning direct sun. Now the leaves are dark green,its bloomed and fruits of different sizes are on the tree. Not sure if its coincidence or not(but it sure prefers) this shelter from the hot afternoon sun.

Good luck!

o

I agree with Puglvr. They take their sweet (sour?) time ripening. 9 months from formation to harvest isn't an exaggeration.