Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
msugrl2010

potting mix? how should I do it

msugrl2010
11 years ago

Hello all,

I'm new to taking care of dwarf citrus trees and am going to order an orcoblanco grapefruit tree very soon. I would like to know of a great potting soil that I can get in stores or a type of mix that I can easily create by buying 1 or 2 different types of mixes at the store.

I have read other posts discussing this dilemma and am still a little lost. I'd appreciate anyone's help!

I also have a little orange tree that I bought at whole foods in May, and this is what started my interest. I posted a picture and he seems to be doing great so far, but I have him in a generic potting soil that seems to drain well at the moment, but I think retains too much moisture. He seems to be doing well now but I'm watching the situaton closely to make sure the soil continues to drain well. I only water him about once a week and measure the moisture levels to make sure he doesn't dry out. Everything is ok so far it seems. But I know I need better soil.

also, if anyone can give me advice on a good grow light that will keep my current orange tree and my soon to be orcoblanco grapefruit tree healthy through the winter would be great. I live in michigan, where we have unforgiving winters (usually overcast everyday during the winter). I'm also a grad student at the moment and am poor XD, so I'd appreciate a light that won't bankrupt me as well.

Thanks again for everyone's advice!!!

msugrl

Comments (9)

• houstontexas123
    11 years ago

you can do a search for al's gritty mix or 511 mix. it has multiple ingredients. and for only two small trees, it may not be practical for you to make. i dont know if any of our regulars live in your area or maybe mail you some.

as you already know, citrus needs a well draining mix. an alternative is a citrus/cactus mix with extra perlite. perhaps even an orchid mix.