Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dourbest

Small calamondin

dourbest
10 years ago

Please help. It's my first year growing citrus. I know calamondin are supposed to be small, but this can't be right. When I purchased the tree it had some nice "regular" sized calamondins on it.

What am I doing wrong?

I bought the tree in June and repotted to a bigger black pot in full sun. Fertilized with Dr. Earth.

Thank you...

Comments (13)

• poncirusguy6b452xx
    10 years ago

I went through your past history to find out you are in so. Ca.

If you are still there, that black pot is way to hot. you should be in a white pot instead.

• johnmerr
    10 years ago

Those fruits are not full size; they are probably being aborted, as the tree can't support them. Are you giving it enough food?
    A photo of the tree would sure help.

• dourbest
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Hi. Sorry it took so long to respond. Here are a couple of pictures of the calamondin tree.

• dourbest
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Side view.

• dourbest
    Original Author
    10 years ago

It it too late in the season to repot to a lighter colored pot?

• johnmerr
    10 years ago

Your tree looks healthy enough; I suppose it is just dropping fruits that it can't support. I would give it a bit more food and maybe more often.

• dourbest
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Johnmerr,
    Thanks. I was told to fertilize only once in April so I was hesitant to fertilize again.

Also, I bought a moisture meter and was told to water only when it read dry. By the time The meter reads dry, the leaves are already starting to curl in. Should I go ahead and water when the top 1 inch soil is dry?

Thanks for your help.

• johnmerr
    10 years ago