Return to the Citrus Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
LED Citrus Success?

Posted by cdevoe 5b (My Page) on
Tue, Aug 19, 14 at 7:55

Hello...I'm a forum newbie. I was wondering if anyone has had noticeable/quantifiable success with citrus under LED grow lights. Perhaps this had been covered in the past and I apologize if it has. We're off-grid and could not use anything of higher wattage but I am looking to somewhat supplement our very overcast winters here in upstate NY.

Thanks!

Chad

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: LED Citrus Success?

I use a ceramic basement style socket with a CFL for cost reasons. You can use an LED instead. For best results use a bulb that directs its light downward. My buckets are aluminium lined and have proven to be extremely effective. You can use trash cans for your light setup. I also use a box grow system you can see using the Youtube link below

Here is a link that might be useful: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YaASoeaBErs

o

For my trees when they out grew the simple bucket lights, see link below. A pic of 1 of my 3 sweetlee tangerine tree from seed. They are all 18 months old at the time of picture and are all equivalent in size

Here is a link that might be useful: http://s1094.photobucket.com/user/wreristhechimney/library/sunshine2013?sort=4&page=1

o

Wow...impressive...and cost effective. Thanks for sharing. It seems a cfl has a good enough lighting spectrum. Do you use special "daylight" bulbs?

o

I use daylight bulb. It makes a difference. You will have no need for grow lights. They are excessively over priced and balance the spectrum by blocking some light in certain frequencies.