Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nanderson15_gw

Recently pruned.... any advice welcomed! !!

NANDERSON15
9 years ago

Hi I'm Nikki, I've recently pruned my 1 yr old Meyer lemon tree and it's beginning today branch out. I'm a newbie and I'm just wondering if my tree is doing well or not or if there's anything I could be doing to get better results. Thanks in advance for your helpful advice! !'

Comments (8)

• poncirusguy6b452xx
    9 years ago

You tree looks nice. These trees are heavy nitrogen feeders and like a 5-1-2 N-P-K feed. I took the liberty of turning you tree upright an it appears to have grown quit a bit.

Steve

• NANDERSON15
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Gee thanks a lot! I had a terrible time trying to post it upright, I just gave up! Thanks for your input, I'm checking my fertilizer now.

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    9 years ago

Nan, most of the container folks on our list prefer to use Dyna Gro's Foliage Pro. You can fertilize with every watering full strength, then, during the winter months when you bring your tree inside, and growth slows down, you can cut the fertilizer to 1/2 strength. It has the proper NPK ratio or very close to it, along with all the micronutrients as well. Also, be sure you've got a very well draining potting mix. Our forum has a nice recipe called "511". You can search the forum for the recipe if you need to switch up your potting medium.

Patty S.

• NANDERSON15
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I'm so sorry you guys, I have no Idea how to reply back to a specific person... could someone pleeeeease assist me with that? Anyway thanks @hoosierquilt ..... I'll look up that formula as well as the fertilizer!

• NANDERSON15
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Here a full picture for anyone interested!

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    9 years ago

Nan, just reply back to your message thread. Address whom you wish :-) Your tree looks very happy and healthy.

Patty S.

• meyermike_1micha