Return to the Citrus Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Should I keep this Moro Blood Orange

Posted by dancer40 9 California (My Page) on
Wed, Aug 24, 11 at 14:58

I have had for maybe 2 months or more. The squirrels got some of the leaves, but it was on clearance when I got it and the top leaves have been flopped over for a while. Not sure what the problem is. I am a novice gardener so sorry for my lack of knowledge.

Here is a link that might be useful: blood orange

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Should I keep this Moro Blood Orange forgot to add

I have fed it some citrus food. The stuff on the leaves if you can see it is remnants of cayenne pepper spray I used to deter the squirrels from it. I was going to put it in a larger container, but it hasn't grown much just seems the same-hasn't lost any leaves... It was on clearance at Home Depot when I got it, maybe I should have not purchased it...

o
RE: Should I keep this Moro Blood Orange

I would love if our Home depots carried blood oranges. they always seem to carry the typical lemons and limes. It appears to pretty healthy to me. Unless you dont have the time and money to take care of it, I would for sure keep it. Citrus grow in cycles. When nothing is happening on top they are usually growing new roots. Get it a bigger pot and put it in a well draining mix, no topsoil and nothing with a lot of peat.

Nice tree.

Mike

o

It looks great, Dancer! Nice and healthy. I would just pot it up in a larger container. There is a great recipe for "gritty mix" on this forum, which makes for excellent container mix. And, perhaps you can put some chicken wire around it until it gets a bit bigger, to discourage the squirrels. I love blood oranges, Moros are very nice, and are the darkest of all the blood oranges. It's a keeper in my book.

Patty S.

o

Thanks guys! I will repot it when it cools off a bit. Its in the upper 80's here. Sorry it wasn't Home Depot it was Lowes .

o