Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
msugrl2010

Type of grow lights for a Michigan winter?

msugrl2010
11 years ago

Hello all,

I just got a 1 yr old ocoblanco. I live in michigan where out winters are overcast with little to no sunlight.

I know houston gave me great advice in the past, but I know texas winters are very different from MI winters.

what type of grow light would I need to keep my tree green and healthy throughout winter? (keep in mind I am a grad student and don't have a ton of money, lol). my tree will be near a window as well to try to soak up as much light it can get.

I'd appreciate anyone's help!

MSUgrl

Comments (17)

• denninmi
    11 years ago

My plants of all kinds do just fine with a regular compact florescent light put into an inexpensive clip-on type spotlight fixture. Total cost is around $6-$10 from a home improvement warehouse or mass merchandiser like Home Depot, Lowe's, Meijer, Wal-mart.

Here is a link that might be useful: Something along these lines, most under $10

• blazeaglory
    11 years ago

You can find fluorescent grow lights that mimic the sun and are the equivalent of a 300w metal halide. I picked one up and it was 80 watts and put out the same amount of lumens as a 300 watt metal halide. Cant remember the brand but google florescent grow lights.

• msugrl2010
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Denninmi, Really? so I could get a compacy florescent light like in the link below and my plant would be ok?
    http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/catalog/servlet/ContentView?pn=KH_BG_EL_Choosing_CFL_Light_Bulbs

Should I try to look for a specific CFL? I wasn't able to see what you posted in the link, for some reason the link took me to the google homepage XD.

Blazeaglory, I googled florescent grow lights but I haven't found anything that you described, Do you have a picture of it?

Thank you both!
    MSUgrl

• msugrl2010
    Original Author
    11 years ago

denninmi,