Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
und_student

Improved Meyer Lemon - Indoors/Repotting

und_student
18 years ago

Within the year, I have purchased 2 Meyer Lemon container trees. They are doing great outside, but I live in zone 3 (North Dakota) and will need to bring my trees inside as the cool season approaches. When should I bring them indoors?

In addition, I am in an apartment building with the windows facing southwest and this doesn't allow much light to enter. What should I do about light for my trees during these indoor months? Also, I have read that a humidifier is helpful for indoor citrus, is this true? Any other tips to help my citrus thrive indoors?

In addition, they both need to be repotted. What type of container would be best? How big? And what type of soil is recommended?

I appreciate any and all advice as I am new to this! Thank-you in advance.

Comments (23)

• birdsnblooms
    18 years ago

Student, congrats on your Meyers..It's best bringing trees indoors when temps drop 40 and colder. The longer you keep them out in the cold, I believe, and this is only my view, there's a better chance your tree will suffer leaf drop.

SW exposure is fine, unless of course it's obstructed w/blinds/curtains. Artificial lighting will also help.
    Humidifers are important to plants, pets and people. I use a standard size, and two indoor fountains..Daily misting also helps by keeping leaves dust free and works w/humidity..Also when spraying, you can check plants for unwanted pests. I cannot breath w/o a humidifer once the heat is turned on, so it's mandatory I use one. "Also, dry air is hard on skin..

You say they need repotting..Can you wait until spring? Now that winter is approaching, plant growth will slow down. What type and size pots are plants growing in now?
    If in long, narrow pots, go to www.treequest.com There are 4 different sized containers, perfect for citrus.