Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nansmans

blossoms

nansmans
9 years ago

I am a newbie to growing citrus as of spring this year. So please forgive silly questions. Husband said my new orange and lemon blossoms won't survive this winter in central MS. Is he wrong or am I gonna be sad ?No one around here to ask questions and I need your guidance. Thanks.

Comments (7)

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    9 years ago

That depends on where you have your trees planted, nansmans. I am assuming you have them in containers, and plan on bringing them indoors. If this is the case, the blossoms will either turn into fruit, or, will drop the fruit if the tree is very young, doesn't have enough light, or is not being watered or fertilized, properly. Now, if you have them planted in the ground in zone 8b, you may not just lose your blossoms, but the entire tree. If you have temps below 32 degrees for any prolonged period of time, citrus will not survive. Now, with a fair amount of care, protection, coverage, proper and thoughtful planting, you might be able to get some certain types of more cold-tolerant citrus cultivars to survive a zone 8b winter, but you need to know what you're doing. Lemons are not very cold-tolerant. The Improved Meyer lemon, more so, since it is a cross between a lemon and what is believed to be a mandarin, and oranges are a little more tolerant than lemons, but not much more so. Can you tell us whether you have your trees planted in the ground or in containers, where are they planted (near a building for protection, out in the open, exposed to winters and colder temps, etc.) Citrus are better grown in zones 9 and up, but with a lot of attention and care, you may be able to grow them in your zone.

Patty

• nansmans
    Original Author
    9 years ago