Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
milehighgardener

Beginner Gardener Key Lime Leaves Falling Help PLz

MileHighGardener
9 years ago

Hello Guys, I'm new to gardening and decided to buy a Dwarf Key Lime anyways I'm in Colorado i bought this tree off of home depot online anyways temperatures are usually in the high 80's to low 90's right now but the problem is my key limes leaves are turning yellow brownish and falling off its almost as if someone where grabbing a lighter and burning them can anyone diagnose something here I'm running out of options? i don't even know anymore if it needs more water, less water, fertilizer all i know is Citrus trees like moist soil and i always keep the soil moist. I would appreciate any feedback and tips on watering and care for the tree

Comments (31)

• MileHighGardener
    Original Author
    9 years ago

heres a overview of the whole tree including pot

• MileHighGardener
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Close up of the leaves that are falling

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    9 years ago

Well, citrus actually do NOT like constantly moist soil. Moist on top usually means soggy wet at the bottom of your pot. They cannot tolerate constantly wet feet, and will develop root rot. Search this forum for "511" mix to create a better draining potting mix. Re-pot. Fertilize with every watering with a high quality liquid fertilizer formulated for citrus. Most container citrus folks on this list prefer to use Dyna Gro's Foliage Pro. You can cut it back to 1/2 strength during the winter, when growth naturally slows down.

Patty S.

• MileHighGardener
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I should have been more clear sorry well the top of the soil is mostly always dry unless I water it here's how I water the tree I place a fingered down about two inches if its moist I leave it if its moist but getting dry I water it I water about once a week. Thanks

• MileHighGardener
    Original Author
    9 years ago