Return to the Citrus Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Injured Kumquat, help!!! Can I save/root the injured part???

Posted by stephen90 (My Page) on
Wed, Sep 22, 10 at 9:44

One of the branches of my Kumquat was bumped into and split nearly off, just sort of hanging there. After panicking, I pushed it back onto the tree where it's being held with light tape but I doubt it will heal. Will it? Can I remove and root the limb? Its a small limb, thinner than a pencil and a bit smaller than the palm of my hand with leaves included, and pictures of the tree are in my other thread on this page. Any help is appreciated!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Injured Kumquat, help!!! Can I save/root the injured part???

I am not a pro here, so I would wait for one of the pro's to answer, however I did have a similar situation once with my ponderosa lemon tree.
I had a split once too. Since the poor thing was young and only had 3 limbs, I did not want to remove it, so I went out, and got some of that tree wound dressing ( looks like black tar) and painted that all over it, and then took that green stretchy plant tie instead of tape ( it is cheap and unlike tape, it is more breathable)and used that to hold it together. The limb eventually connected itself back together after a while and years later, it is a now a main large branch to my tree!

I am sure you could also remove it and try to root it also. You may have a 50/50 on that.

But like I said, this is just a personal experience, and you may want to wait for one of the pros here to chime in! Good luck! Christy

o

If you match up the cambium exactly and tape it tightly (with floral tape, not scotch tape) it may heal. If it's a jagged rip this may be difficult or impossible, but it may be worth a shot.

o