Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
megler_gw

New Grapefruit and Lemon Tree Questions

megler
10 years ago

Hi everyone!

I just purchased a grapefruit tree and a lemon tree and have a few questions:

1. How far away from my fence should I plant them? I have a 6' privacy fence I want to put them near.

2. How often do I water? (I'm terrible about over/under watering)

3. Do I need 2 of either of these trees for cross pollination or are they fine as singles?

Thanks so much! I've never done trees before, so I want to make sure I don't kill 'em right out of the chute.

Comments (2)

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Well, to start, I would make sure that you get good, sound information from a good garden center, to help you with your new trees, since you have no experience with fruit trees. That's a must. And, I suggest you bookmark a few web sites for assistance as well. You don't say where you live, and maintenance of in-ground citrus can vary a little bit, depending upon what part of the country you reside in. My information would be directed at someone in S. California in general, so here are some answers to your questions:

1. How far away from my fence should I plant them? I have a 6' privacy fence I want to put them near. - Well, depends a bit upon whether you have purchased standard trees or semi-dwarf trees. Citrus trees grafted to standard rootstocks can get upwards to 20' tall over time. On semi-dwarfing rootstock, more like 12-15' tall. I would plant them at least 6' away from your fence, just to be safe.