Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cognackid

Missing orange tree bark

cognackid
11 years ago

Hi,

I am fairly new to citrus growing but have a few mature trees and a number of immature trees all in containers. I just added a new tree to my collection, which arrived this week from a nursery known for proving quality citrus trees. The tree is a Trovita Sweet Orange and is healthy with the exception of the rootstock, which has a three inch section that is missing a chunk of bark. Is this something to be concern with or am I being overly sensitive to a non-existent problem? Will the tree grow without problems and produce good fruit? Should I contact the nursery and complain? I am a little disappointed as I was expecting a perfect tree (no apparent flaws). I paid a little over $40.00 for this tree. Any advices is greatly appreciated. This is my first post in this forum but I have been getting excellent information from here for years! Thanks in advance...

Comments (7)

• johnmerr
    11 years ago

The answers are yes, it will grow, as long as it is not girdled; and YES, I would ask the nursery for a replacement. For $40 you have every right to expect a perfect tree.

• cognackid
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks for your quick response and great advice. I was leaning towards asking for a replacement but was unsure if I would be complaining about something that was typical or indicative of some root stock/orange trees.

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    11 years ago

I agree with John, though I would stress that there can be a truly negative impact on the tree from the damage. Tree bark is a mighty defense defense system for the tree. One of the many things I look for when inspecting a woody plant at the nursery, is that the outer bark is undamaged. I've refused shipment of large trees that show signs of being damaged at the nursery or en route.

I'd like to see a picture, though...and it might be helpful to the nursery to have a picture.

• noss
    11 years ago