Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
karmaticflow

Dwarf Moro Blood Orange

Karmaticflow
10 years ago

Hello everyone. I'm new to citrus but not new to these forums. I also have an interest in Adeniums(Desert Rose). I want to purchase a dwarf blood orange tree. I believe this is the correct time of year to purchase and repot. Yes, I plan on repotting into a clay pot to be kept outside. I live in Las Vegas, NV. So the summers can have some extreme heat and the winters can get down below freezing for short periods. Whats a good type medium and fert. to use? I've read a little bit from different sites and for the most part they all say a well draining soil and citrus fert. Does this mean I can use the cactus soil I use for my Adeniums and have a decent grasp of it water retention and then just buy any citrus fert. Or is there a better fert. for citrus. Whats a good N-P-K ratio for the fert. and when should it be used. Slow Release or Water Soluble?

Thanks for taking the time to read and reply to my post.
JR

Comments (18)

• gregbradley
    10 years ago

What are you using for the Adeniums? Does it have much organic materials that break down and require re-potting often?

I'm having excellent luck with Armstrong Cactus/Citrus mix and Terracotta pots. My Summers are a bit less hot and a bit less dry than yours. I am using wicks which along with the unsealed clay helps to ensure no perched water table.

I do use something closer to Al's Gritty Mix for mine in sealed pots but find I need to make it less "griitty" unless I want to water as much as 3 times per day on the 5-10 sizzling days we have here - 100+ and less than 20% humidity. You have a lot more sizzling days than we do.

Smith Red Valencia is supposed to be the best tasting of all the Blood Oranges. I have that along with Moro, Tarocco, and Sanguinelli but don't have a crop from any of the yet.

• Karmaticflow
    Original Author
    10 years ago