Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rubyjchang

kumquat: what soil should i use?

Ruby Chang
10 years ago

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie who just ordered a 3 year old Fukushu kumquat from Four Seasons (I have been researching a WHOLE lot on Gardenweb, and EVERYBODY recommended Four Seasons!!!).

All my other plants (NON-citrus) are in the Gritty Mix. But I have heard good and bad things about the Gritty Mix for citrus. So I am a bit scared. Can anybody offer any tips/ideas about what mix to use for my new kumquat (that is to be arrived next week).

Could I use Miracle Grow Cactus/Citrus mix and add a bunch of bark/granite pieces/perlite to it?

Can I use the Gritty Mix? (I am worried about the repotting process too...barerooting a big citrus tree is very scary to a newbie like me).

ANY TIPS ARE GREATLY GREATLY GREATLY APPRECIATED!!! (poor college student here don't want to loose an expensive citrus tree). Pretty pretty please give some tips!

Comments (6)

• meyermike_1micha
    10 years ago

Anything well draining...

An ultimate would be a mix made of 5 parts bark, 1 part peat, and one part perlite..Something close to it if you can understand the concept of it...

Yes the gritty can be challenging for newbies, but worth every effort..But if you want to get use to understanding the concepts of fast draining mixes, I really think you will get use to the ease of the mix I recommended above and have a first success...
    Maybe you can eventually graduate to the gritty one..

Fafard mixes heavy weight too...

Great to have you!

MIke

• Ruby Chang
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Hi Mike!