Return to the Citrus Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
More watering mystery and yellow limes

Posted by ohiojen none (My Page) on
Mon, Oct 24, 11 at 10:11

Hi, all,

Want to thank you all again for your help with moving my trees indoors (I've only had them since the spring and they are my first citrus babies!).

Now they are inside, seem well adjusted, everyone looks happy although they aren't growing, but I'm expecting that they will mostly do that in the summer when they are outside.

Couple of strange things. When I first brought them in, my soil was definitely too wet - in fact, I waited over two weeks for it to dry out enough to water them (checking frequently), which was totally unacceptable. I tour full time, though (I'm a musician) and I couldn't re-pot right then. Busy season. I watered them last Tuesday, left again, and went to figure out the re-potting thing today. They were almost totally dry. I should have watered them a day or two ago. This is what was going on this summer when they were outside - I had to water about twice a week. Could it just be that they had an adjustment period? They were losing leaves right after my husband brought them in because we didn't know to do it gradually. Maybe they were using less water then, and now they're back to normal usage? Thoughts?

My Meyer also had a ton of little fruit and it's all dropped. I'm a little bummed, but not surprised since they were setting when we were doing all this change. Is this anything to worry about?

One more - my bearss limes are all turning yellow. I know this is normal for some limes - is it for the bearss? How do you know when to pick a lime? When I pick apples here in Ohio, it's pretty easy to tell when they're ready, you shouldn't have to work very hard to get them off. I know the citrus on my grandmother's tress in Florida was always harder to get off, but I don't really remember. We just picked when she told us to. :) If I tug gently, they're not going anywhere.

Thanks so much!