Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
winstella

What happened to my citrus trees???

winstella
9 years ago

The leaves on my Valencia orange started curling up recently and this morning, they all fell off!! Same for my kishu. However my golden mandarin and my Meyer lemon are fine... It's been very hot in SoCal lately. 100 degrees. Is this why?

This post was edited by winstella on Fri, Oct 10, 14 at 13:00

Comments (9)

• stickstring ( Sonoma County, CA 9B)
    9 years ago

I am very new to citrus, especially in containers and you can read back some of my posts which prove this. Meyermike has been a god send, as have many others here on this forum.
    Please take my advice as a newbie comment, although as I have been tought, it seems as if potting medium and watering may be the culprit. Whenever I notice my leaves begining to curl, I find my potting medium either too wet or too dry. Especially in your high heat.

Like I said, newbie comment... If soil is wet (too wet for too long), possible root rot. I wouldn't check for root rot until one of the citrus "pro's" on this forum suggest to do so.
    Just my too cents, hope it helps.

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    9 years ago

Looks like they desperately need to be watered. It looks like you did water, but perhaps you allowed the trees to dry out too much, and the trees are simply in shock from not enough water. I would move them to a shady area, keep them watered appropriately (not too much, but not bone dry), and allow them to start to recover. One you start to see new leaf flush pushing out at the leaf nodes, fertilize (be sure to water first, fertilize, then water in the fertilizer).