Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
charleslou23

Pummelo Q's

charleslou23
11 years ago

which one you think taste the best and is the sweetest: Chandler, Sarawak, or Hirado Buntan? If you only tried 1 or 2 of these varieties, please also share your input.

Comments (19)

• johnmerr
    11 years ago

I have tried them all; and I prefer the Chandler. It makes some difference about the climate; I think the HB does best when you have less heat units. My Chandlers are in tropical climate; I have no experience with them in other climates.

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    11 years ago

I agree with John, and I'm in an entirely different climate, more Mediterranean. Not sure where you're located, Charles? If you add your location and zones in your "Zone" field, we can then better offer info for you. I really like the taste of Chandler. It is the most commonly offered pummelo here in S. California, but I can say for good reason. It is really quite delicious, has pretty pink flesh, and is consistently good from the coastal areas to the desert. I also have a Tahitian pummelo, Mato Buntan pummelo as well a Valentine pummelo hybrid (and of course Oroblanco an Melogold pummelo hybrids). I like them all very much for varying reasons, but the Chandler, as far as a straight pummelo comparison to other straight pummelos, has the best flavor by far.

Patty S.

• johnmerr
    11 years ago

The Chandler is also seedless; and with lots of heat the fruit is like eating candy; but if you really want the best ever tropical fruits, go to Thailand. For some reason whatever the fruit, it tastes better in Thailand; must be combination of soils and climate.

• charleslou23
    Original Author
    11 years ago

i'm in zone 9, Houston area.

11 years ago