Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrs_leo

Meyer Lemon Tree Yellowing Leaves

Mrs.Leo
11 years ago

Hi all, I'm new to gardening and to this forum, and I'm really excited to know that there are so many of you out there who are so kind to share your gardening knowledge and experience. We welcomed our first tree (Mr. Lemon) into our home back in July. The Meyer lemon tree has been out in the yard for the past few months. We moved the tree indoor 2 weeks ago. It's currently being placed under 3 light bar plant grow light (15 watt T8 fluorescent bulb each).

{{gwi:636258}}

We noticed the tree has produced lots of flower buds since moving indoor and at the same time some of the leaves are turning yellow.

{{gwi:636260}}

{{gwi:636263}}

{{gwi:636264}}

{{gwi:636266}}

We fertilized the tree with Dr Earth's fruit tree fertilizer, coffee ground and crushed egg shells.

The last time we watered we noticed that there were springtails in the soil.

Any ideas on why the leaves are having yellow spots? I've been reading up and the reasons could possibly be rotting roots, manganese deficiency, over watering, not getting enough light... What should we do to prevent the problem from getting worse? Mr. Lemon appreciates all your help! :)

Comments (6)

• johnmerr
    11 years ago

First, you did what so many people do with Meyers in containers; you made an abrupt light condition change. Meyers are quite sensitive to such changes and will often drop many leaves to later replace them with leaves better suited to the new light. It looks to me like the two top yellow leaves got burned... maybe too close to the light?
    The lower yellowing leaves is reaction to the light change.