Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dmdgarden_gw

911 - Transplanted mandarine tree

dmdgarden
17 years ago

Hi everyone,

My neighbors are re-landascaping and gave me one of their citrus tree, a dwarf mandarine. Unfortunately it didn't have a lot of roots left - it's about 6ft tall but roots footprint was about 15"x15". I planted it near our other citruses. It's been there for about a week and losing leaves at an alarming rate - I am not too confident about its survival chances.

Questions:

- should I over-water it to promote roots growth?

- should I add any fertilizer/additives at this point?

- any other recommendation?

I am not very experienced with gardening - everything I've planted so far came from nurseries and just thrived in our northern California climate. Many thanks in advance for your suggestions!

(will try to upload photos next)

Comments (10)

• dmdgarden
    Original Author
    17 years ago

The tree as it looks today:

{{gwi:637220}}

The tree in its settings - lime tree to its right and meyer improved to its left, beyond the lavender. Meyer is thriving and covered with tiny lemons; lime is fine but not giving any fruit.

{{gwi:637221}}

• gardner_dragon
    17 years ago

The leaf drop is a normal response to root loss. The tree does not have enough root mass to support the full canopy so its dropping part of it. Water this tree only sparingly. Overwatering will only promote root rot not root growth. Fertilizer will only further stress the tree. No fertilizer until spring.

You can help the tree recover by triming off 1/3 of the remaining canopy. This will allow the tree to concentrate on root growth instead of leaf/flower/fruit production. Keep the tree safe from frosts and it should bounce back.

As tempting as it is, don't baby the tree too much. You CAN kill it with kindness.
    Andi

• bencelest
    17 years ago