Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dhopman_gw

Meyer lemon buds going black and falling off

dhopman
9 years ago

Newbie here in Livermore, CA, looking for some advice from you pros.

I picked up an improved Meyer lemon tree at Costco back in March. It has looked pretty healthy and I get excited with all the flowering going on (there have been multiple waves) but they haven't been turning into lemons yet. They turn into nice yellow pea sized lemons, then start turning brown/black, shriveling and dropping off. Not one single lemon yet.

I used standard potting soil, and it gets 5 minutes of water every 3 days on a 1gph flag emitter. I've given it a couple feeding since purchasing of miracle-gro all-purpose shake 'n feed.

Any ideas? Is this normal?

Comments (6)

• dhopman
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Here's another pic of the tree. Never mind the tomato plant sneaking in on the left.

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    9 years ago

Whoa. That tree is stuggling to say the least. The least of your worries are the fruit falling off. Barb did the math for you. Not nearly enough water. I would be flooding that tree until the water runs through it. Then, come back and do it, again. The soil is now probably so dried out it is hydrophobic, so you're going to have to really soak it well a few times to get it to absorb any water. And agree with Barb, bigger pot, better potting medium. I would not use 511, as it is probably too drying for 100% outdoor container citrus in California. I use a modified version: 3 parts MiracleGro Vegetable Soil (has to be this one), 1 part small bark chips (I like either coarse Orchid mix, or reptile bark from Petsmart) and 1 part perlite. You can get the MiracleGro and Perlite at Lowe's or Home Depot, as well as the coarse orchid mix or go to Petsmart and get a big back of reptile bark.