Return to the Citrus Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Orange tree leaf Drop

Posted by agent_orange Utah (My Page) on
Mon, Oct 17, 11 at 18:46

Hello,
I'm new at citrus however, I have read this forum a few times to get some good information. I have a dwarf Naval orange tree from four winds that is dropping it's leaves. There are no signs of disease and pests. I have it in the 5:1:1 mix and suspect it is adjusting to the weather or over watering from a recent re-potting? I know there are plenty of experts on this forum and would appreciate any advice. Overall the health of the tree looks fine and I probably should just wait and see. Here are some pictures that may help.
Thanks a bundle,
-Scott
Photobucket
Photobucket

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Orange tree leaf Drop

If my leaves looked like yours, I would say I was over fertilizing; the other issue, is you being in Utah, you probably recently moved them indoors, so they are adjusting to the difference in sunlight, humidity, and temperature. They will likely recover.

o

Did you at anytime let the mix get too dry?

It looks like at one point it was left too dry and dropped green leaves.
It is almost impossible to over water in the 5.1.1 mix if made correctly an especially in an area where there is abundant sunshine.
Your leaves will most likely display yellowing and then drop if over watering was the culprit.

Mike

o

do you keep it in a sunny window. My first thought was winter leaf drop.

mike

o

Thanks everyone,