Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
claire25_gw

Help Me Feed a Hungry Lemon Tree

claire25
10 years ago

I am new to growing citrus, and have just found out that I have probably been starving my Meyer Lemon, which I've had since April. The tree, which has been growing out on my deck in full sun all season, has set 11 lemons, each of which, though still green, are nearly the size of a supermarket-type lemon already. It was in a one-gallon pot when I bought it, and I potted it up at that time into a larger plastic container with Miracle-Gro Cactus/Citrus soil. Other than the fertilizer already in that soil, I have scarcely fertilized it at all this summer, though it does receive very occasional drenches with the leftover dilute orchid fertilizer (quarter strength 20-14-13, non-urea, with micronutrients) I use on my other plants.

Everything has seemed fine, up until a couple weeks ago when I started noticing a few yellowing leaves, which started appearing among the smaller, older leaves near the base of the plant. The leaves are yellowing at the veins first, before the entire leaf yellows and drops off. Newer leaves are beginning to have yellow veins now, too. Otherwise the plant seems healthy, and I doubt it is yellowing due to overwatering--I wait until the pot is very light in weight before I water, though I do try to keep it from staying bone-dry for long. So far the problem seems minor, but I am concerned to see it dropping leaves even before being brought indoors for the winter.