Return to the Citrus Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Neglected Meyer Lemon

Posted by born_free none (My Page) on
Sat, Oct 5, 13 at 22:51

Hi All

I am a newbie to this forum and to keeping plants alive.

We have a Meyer Lemon tree in a pot that has been neglected. Although it looks alive it has very few leaves. Some leaves have very yellow veins and are dropping off. It keeps blooming however I have since found out that this is an indication of stress and not new growth.

I have treated leaf miner with a home made soap and oil spray. It is now being watered regularly. Recently I've given it a good feed and added new mulch. To treat the yellow veins I've given it a good watering of Epsom salts and iron chelate. I take off the new flowers as I see them.

What else can I do? A friend with a green thumb has mentioned it probably has a dry root ball as water just flows straight though it.

Do you have any handy hints for me? How can I treat a dry root ball - do I just keep saturating it?

Thank you in advance ... I really hope it's not too late for TLC!

As an FYI, we are in Sydney Australia and it's spring.

Regards

This post was edited by born_free on Sun, Oct 6, 13 at 3:05

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Neglected Meyer Lemon

Another photo taken just before the yellow veins.

This post was edited by born_free on Sun, Oct 6, 13 at 3:06

o