Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
citrusfreak

Is it time to bring indoors?

citrusfreak
13 years ago

I live in MD and the night temps are starting to get in the upper 40s lower 50s. Is that too cold for my citrus? When should I bring them in the garage? When in the house? Also, am I suppose to spray them with anything for insects before I bring them indoors? This is my first year raising citrus trees and I've spent so much money that I need to keep them alive! Also, do I fertilize in the winter? Thanks for your help?

Comments (20)

• tsmith2579
    13 years ago

Your citrus will do fine as long as the temps stay above freezing and the days are warm. I don't heat my greenhouse unless the temps are supposed to go down to 35* or lower. My calamondin, Ponderosa and Key lime do just fine. Bring them inside when the nights get cold. Give them as much light as possible. If the light is lacking, you will see leaf drop. If you can move them inside at night and outside during the day, that will be great.

• displacer
    13 years ago

We are having similar night temps here (mid-40s) and I am leaving my citrus outside for now. In a few days, it's supposed to get a little warmer, with night temps in the low 50s.

Cool nights are good for the trees. Leave them outside as long as your nerves can take it!

• meyermike_1micha
    13 years ago

Actually cool night set off bud production and harden leaves off..

The key is not to bring them into a very warm dry enviroment after leaving them outdoors this long in such cold temmps..
    You can graduate them by putting in a slighly warmer enviroment by doing as T-smith says by bringing them in when very cold at night, then back out for warmer days..

You can also bring them back into a room that is not heated and cooler than the rest of the home until they get use to the warmer enviroment..