Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
meanngreen

New satsuma and kumquat HELP

MeanNgreen
10 years ago

Hello all,
I just recently purchased a satsuma and kamquat tree from lowes both with fruit in them already. I just repotted the satsuma tree in a 14 inch self watering plastic container using only Miracle Gro general-purpose potting soil. I didn't think it would be an issue being that I'm new to gardening. I've since learned of this 5 1 1 mix and was thinking of repotting into that but am concerned about shocking plant too much being that I just moved it. Looks like it's doing good though. Has one big fruit in it. See pic. What should I do? It's been about a week now

Kamquat I am waiting on till I get the soil mix right to plant. Is a 14 inch plastic self watering pot ok for both these trees. They came in 3 gallon containers so it about 25% bigger. Is the 5 1 1 the way to go? Do I need to add the lime or is pine, moss and perlite enough.
THANKS

Comments (6)

• citrusweekendwarrior
    10 years ago

Hey! Welcome to the joys of potted citrus!
    Mean N Green, I keep 4 four potted citrus myself and from what I've noticed, is that if the tree seems to like the medium that you put it in then there really isn't a good reason to repot it so soon.
    I have a calamondin in a all purpose MG soil. Like you I did this only because it seemed like the right thing to do at the time.
    The calamondin has been in this soil for over 8 yrs now and with a little fertilizer it grows crazy.

This year in Ohio we had 18 days of straight rain in June. Just make sure you have good drainage and you'll be fine

• arkberry
    10 years ago