Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maximus852

Kumquat dying

maximus852
18 years ago

My kumquat has lost all of its leaves, either because I over fertilized it or underwatered it. It is very, very small tree. If I flush the soil, and make sure it has alot of water, can it come back?

Comments (42)

• garnetmoth
    18 years ago

You kinda need to know whats wtong before tinkering will help. How did the leaves look as they fell off? How strong was your fertlizer?

If youre sure its not over-watered, set it in the sink or shower and gently run water out for a while. I worry about plants getting root rot indoors, its less warm (I dont have a greenhouse) than the summer. I use a house fan a few hours every other day to give circulation and gentle drying.

This is my first year with citrus, and im taking baby steps. I have a fairly warm room/window, but im only feeding half strength, every other watering right now, so I dont get over-spindly plants.

Good luck!

• suzannesks
    18 years ago

Maximus...I can only tell you that with my experience 's with Kumquats they can be more tempermental than Meyer Lemons! A few things That I have learned with mine is that ...it likes alott of light and it grows better when it's kept alittle more on the moist side.I can see in your page that you are a student and live in a dorm and have many houseplants.I'd check for bugs,water totally to flush out the salts and make sure theres plenty if light. You might want to buy a small grow lux just for your kumquat.***Suzanne

• drichard12
    18 years ago

I would also supply some bottom heat not below 60F-16C no higher than 80F-27C
    Fast draining soil mix,

• Patty_in_Wisc
    18 years ago

Dale, if his tree is indoors why would he need bottom heat? (just curious)
    Last May-June almost all my citrus lost leaves. I never did find out why. Millet told me to flush all of them w/water 5 times the pot size amount. They all came back. Hope you have WELL draining mix.
    Patty

• siliconmage