Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alaskadiver_gw

How do I tell when my citrus is ripe?

alaskadiver
18 years ago

OK, probably a dumb question, but this is my first attempt at growing citrus and I'm wondering how I know when they are ripe. I have 3 potted citrus plants, a Meyer's lemon, a Satsuma mandarin, and a Mexican lime. Here are pics of my first year's meager production. The lemons and limes look ready to pick but I was wondering more about the Satsuma mandarines. Do I wait until they are entirely orange? Or are the perfectly orange colored fruits in the groceries the result of dye as I thought was the case?

{{gwi:640684}}
{{gwi:640685}}

{{gwi:640686}}

Comments (11)

• AnotherAlterEgo
    18 years ago

Kent - I'm particularly fond of the aqua-colored container. The terra-cota one looks good against the limestone as well. That said, I've posted a link which may be helpful.

Here is a link that might be useful: Is it ripe?

• AnotherAlterEgo
    18 years ago

Kent - A picture is worth a thousand words. Here's another link.

Here is a link that might be useful: Photo of Ripe

• suzannesks
    18 years ago

alaska, your lemons are ready,the satsumas are NOT and the limes you can also pick:)Beautiful plants by the way,very healthy.You can have a lemon pie now & Margerita.***Suzanne

• malcolm_manners
    18 years ago

Satsuma peel color and degree of ripeness are completely unrelated and independent. In Florida, they are usually at their best eating quality while still deep green. In climates with chilly nights, they may be quite orange, but still too sour to eat. It just depends on the climate.

In any case, mandarins (in the USA anyway) are never dyed for the grocery store. Some Florida oranges are, but that's all.

• AnotherAlterEgo
    18 years ago