Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tednruthy

Need to learn about Citrus, what and where to buy in Tucson

tednruthy
11 years ago

I am new to citrus since I was born and raised up north. I am taking out 4 mature trees, 2 damaged badly by freeze 2 winters ago and 2 that are to old and large and over their prime I am told. I want to replace these with a grapefruit and a lemon and an orange or maybe tangelo. I would like small compact variety, maybe dwarf if available. I live in Tucson and have looked for good websites for nurseries in the area but not impressed. Where can I go to get god trees locally? If I buy from Lowes or Home Depot how long will it be before I get some decent amount of fruits? I suspect I would have trouble finding the best varieties in these stores also. I am a senior and would rather spend a little more and see quicker results than planting a tiny tree and waiting many years. ALL pointers and suggestions welcome. THANKS TED

Comments (9)

• arkberry
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I have had good luck with some of the trees I have purchased at the large national retailers. The trees I purchased were all of fruiting age and produced well the first full season I had them. I would suppose that the stores will carry varieties that do well in your area. In central Arkansas, they carried mostly Satsuma which tends to be one of the most cold hardy citrus. You may want to look at the website for Four Winds Growers. I have never purchased from them, but I have seen many pictures of plants purchased from them by other members on the board. They are very knowledge and kind and helped me save a potted citrus that I bought locally. If they can not help you, I am sure they can put you in contact with someone in the state of Arizona that can.

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    11 years ago