Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ehits

Graft line and trunk question

ehits
10 years ago

Hi, I have what seems to be a dwarf navel orange tree (not sure, makes good fruit). It has been in the ground for at least 4.5 years. The trunk has some bare wood on it that doesn't look so good and I was wondering what is was from and how I can help it.

Also, I was wondering where the graft line is on this tree so I can be sure I remove any suckers from the rootstock. Are there any suckers in the pics? All the leaves look similar, but I am new to this.

Lastly, am I ok to slightly trim back some gangly branches? I am not too concerned with appearance, but some branches are on the ground and others are just way outside the canopy.

Thanks,
Eric

Pics:
{{gwi:641735}}
{{gwi:641737}}
{{gwi:641739}}
{{gwi:641741}}
{{gwi:641743}}
{{gwi:641745}}
{{gwi:641747}}

Comments (15)

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    10 years ago

Well, based I what I see with your watering situation, I would say it is due to foot rot, and it's amazing it hasn't completely killed the tree. You should not have standing water in the well up against the trunk like that. It will promote a fungal infection (foot rot - Phytothphora), and will kill your tree. I would suggest you extend your water well all the way out to the edge of the canopy and a bit beyond (which is known as the drip line), and build up the soil just a bit towards the trunk, so any standing water will collect in a ring around the tree at the drip line, and not up against the trunk at all. You can always prune out any gangly or unwanted branches, I would make sure the canopy stays open, prune out any dead wood to the trunk (just don't prune into the branch collar) inside the canopy. Keep water off the trunk, that's the main issue I see here, and most likely the cause of all the bark damage.

Patty S.

• RugbyHukr
    10 years ago

1) I would remove the green stems at the base of the tree.