Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chrish_in_la

Meyer lemon tree pointers

chrish_in_la
10 years ago

Hi,

I recently moved to southern California from New York and was very excited to be living in a zone where I could grow citrus, so I bought a small Meyer lemon tree from HD which I've had for about 6 weeks. It's in a square planter and positioned to get 6+ hours of sun a day.

The tree had 2 little green lemons on it initially which seem to be ripening OK, but I've noticed that in the past week or so the leaves have been yellowing and falling off. Not sure whether it's something I'm doing wrong. I've been watering it roughly once a week, and only if the soil feels dry at the tip of my index finger when pushed into soil.

After reading several Meyer threads here I'm wondering whether the soil I used is the right type - I got a general planter soil that said on the bag was suitable for fruit and vegetables.

I've fed it once so far using Vigoro Citrus and Avacodo food.

I'm new to gardening in general, and have had mixed success so far with other plants out here, but I really want to keep this tree alive and thriving so any advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks!

Comments (5)

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    10 years ago