Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
julia42

Why is my Owari Satsuma so bland?

julia42
12 years ago

So I have a small Owari Satsuma tree that I put in the ground last spring. It set quite a bit of fruit, but I pulled most off, leaving only two. They've started turning orange, so I tried one today. It wasn't terrible or anything, but I found it to be pretty bland. It was sweet, but with very little tartness or richness of flavor. Maybe slightly dry, too. I've had many satsumas before, but I've never known the variety. I was under the impression that Owari continues to be pretty highly regarded, even with all the new varieties that are available. I've heard that Satsumas improve with age - perhaps my tree is too young. Or perhaps it was this year's drought. Or maybe I watered too much? Maybe I picked it too soon? Or too late? Does anyone have any thoughts about this? I'm pretty new to fruit growing... Thanks!

Comments (17)

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    12 years ago

Hello!
    I'd guess it's a combination of things...drought-stress could certainly contribute. How often did you water?
    Also, what are the temperatures like in Houston lately? Here, in the foothills of the Sierra Nevada mountains,
    we don't harvest until later this month (and into December). I've always heard that the fruit needs the frost.

Josh

• julia42
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I'd say that I deep-watered about once every two weeks, except during the hottest parts of the summer when I upped the watering schedule to once a week. The tree itself is very healthy-looking and has put out plenty of new growth throughout the summer.

Temperatures are still pretty warm here, though. We had one night dip to 33, but mostly we've had highs around 80, lows around 60. Maybe I should leave the other fruit and see if a better flavor develops?

• johnmerr
    12 years ago