Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gonebananas_gw

Enjoying 'Juanita' tangerines this week at the Z 7/8 border

gonebananas_gw
15 years ago

It's still just bush size but with a dozen or so fruit. It's been outside for two or three years now, basically unprotected. Tonight it will be 18-21 degrees but this tangerine should be unfazed. I did pick half the fruit in case they freeze. And if it is slated to go below 15 degrees this winter I'll probably throw something over it and maybe add a lightbulb.

Comments (10)

• steve_nc_7b
    15 years ago

That's good to hear, as I'm bordering zone 8 myself. I have a Juanita that I've been growing in a pot for a couple of years and will be planting it out this spring. What temps did your tree see in the last few winters and did it have any damage? Last year I planted a Thomasville Citrangequat that came through with no damage at all. This past spring I planted Keraji mandarin and a Changsha (Lee Sharpe) it is the best tasting selection made by the LA citrus experimental station. Very good fruit and about half the seeds of normal Changsha, 10 - 15 seeds per fruit. Reported to be hardy to 5°F this may be our best bet for long term hardiness long term thus far. I'm going to work with it trying to produce seedless fruit.

• gonebananas_gw
    Original Author
    15 years ago

We haven't had a hard winter since it's been outside. Just upper teens. The 18 degrees or so it just went through (official temperature, not yard) probably almost equals what it has yet seen, but really early this year which has to be harder. It also has a tall pine near it, which helps.

The ag experiment station at Tifton, GA, is working on seedless Changsha. Tell me more about that Lee Sharp selection; I would like to find it. I've heard Keraji is good and I have a little one coming along in a pot in protection.

• mrtexas
    15 years ago

Not nearly as good as satsuma

• steve_nc_7b
    15 years ago