Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
debbiekim76

my first citrus trees...HELP!

debbiekim
13 years ago

i'm a newbie and i need your help, please!!!

i recently bought a clementine and a mandarin tree online - 1.5 years old. just got them delivered last week. i opened the box and saw that one of them had its leaves curled downward. the other one had some leaves that looked healthy, glossy, and dark green, but some of the other leaves looked olive green and more "transparent" than the others. doubtful, yet hopeful, i put them in terra cotta pots with organic potting soil, gave them a deep watering (not totally soaked or anything), and put them in the sunniest spot in the house, which gets a good 8-10 hours of sun. now, all of the leaves on both plants are drying up and some are falling off!

i left a message with the company and am waiting for a response, but i thought i'd check in with you knowledgeable folks!

help!! what did i do wrong??

(let me know if you need more info from me...i didn't know what i was suppose to include!)

Comments (8)

• mksmth zone 7a Tulsa Oklahoma
    13 years ago

Hey debbiekim

welcome to GW. Your trees are probably in shock right now, which is pretty normal. Any chance they may have been exposed to freezing temps during the shipping to your zone? A couple hours on a freezing FedEx truck or dock can damage an unprotected citrus tree. The mix you put them in, is it free draining? When you water you should start to see some come out the bottom in a matter a seconds. If not it will hold more than you think and you will need to be extra careful to not over water this winter. Your first instinct when trouble starts will be to water and most often that compounds you problems. Just be sure you can provided adequate light, keep the roots warm and dont overwater.

posting some pictures of the overall tree, soil mix and location they will be in will help us guide you to a healthy recovery of your trees.

Mike

• ashleysf
    13 years ago