Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
boozemonkey

repotting into gritty mix, need some pointers

Boozemonkey
10 years ago

Hello everyone,

This is my first post and I am a citrus newbie. I'll be repotting my Persian lime and Clementine tree this weekend from MB Citrus mix to Al's gritty mix.

Do you guys clean the root ball of all the old soil? If so, how do you do it? And how do you lay it down in the new substrate?

My poor persian tree is doing terrible in the current mix and I want to save it

Thanks,

Booze

Comments (10)

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    10 years ago

Hey, Booze. Where do you live?

First pointer: now is a difficult time to re-pot Citrus in the northern hemisphere (I don't know where you live, though). Optimal time would be to re-pot in early Spring between flushes of growth.

Bare-rooting the citrus now will be even more traumatic to the tree and probably ensure a longer, slower recovery time. But if it's a choice between the tree dying, then proceed.

After cleaning off the roots, you would trim any wild, j-hooked, angled, girdling, or heavy and woody roots. Then you would build a mound to the desired height and place the root-ball on top with the roots spread outward and down the sides of the mound like the spokes of a bicycle wheel (or, perhaps, imagine lava running down all sides of a volcano). Then, add the mix a layer at a time, using a chop-stick or similar poker to work the mix between the roots. Add another layer of mix, poke, layer of mix, poke, leaving no air-pockets. Once the roots are mostly covered, do a thorough watering to settle the mix even better, and then add your final layer of mix to cover the root-flare (the point at which the roots transition to the trunk).