Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
trippy1976

Health issues with my citrus?

trippy1976
13 years ago

There is an orange tree in my back yard. I don't know for sure, but I think it was planted by the prior owner about 8 years ago.

I've always had these chutes pop up. They grow from the base of the tree, grow very fast and very high, and have huge 2 inch thorns. The "branch" looks very different from the rest of the tree. The rest of the tree has bark that is green with whiteish streaks. This is pure green and doesn't really look like it has bark...

So question / issue #1 are these chutes. I can hardly keep up with them and since I took ownership of this poor tree more and more sprout out of the base. I don't know if this is normal, or something due to some neglect from me. I'm from Maine, so this is my first time having a citrus tree.

Second issue is the new growth. Most of it appears "blighted". The old growth appears unaffected. I have posted pictures:

{{gwi:651914}}
Leaves with "blight" on a branch I trimmed off

{{gwi:651915}}
Holding up "blighted" growth next to old growth, you can see the difference. Blight on the left, healthy on the right.

{{gwi:651916}}
This is one of the chutes with giant thorns. They are really long, sometimes 6-8 feet in length.

{{gwi:651917}}
Most start from the base of the tree like this. I've pruned them away, but am surprised at how quick they grow back, how high they go and prune them out because they HURT when picking the fruit and my children have been hurt by them while playing too.

Comments (9)

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    13 years ago

Ah, that looks to be the root-stock that is sprouting.
    Just as you've done, prune them away whenever they appear.
    It is vigorous, which is why it makes good root-stock ;)

Josh

• call_me_wizfire
    13 years ago

UH_OH SUCKER!!!!! they are called this because they literally 'suck' the life out of the part of the plant that you actually want. That could also explain your 'blight'.