Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
foolishpleasure

Citrus Tree Maturity

foolishpleasure
11 years ago

I am a citrus newbie and started with three trees
Washington naval orange Tangelos and key lime. The nursery gave ME the history about the three trees.
The TANGLOS was grafted in July 2009, to make it about 3 1/2 old
The orange and lime were grafted June 2008 so they are about 4 1/2 years old.
All trees are 6 feet tall and 3 feet wide
When do I expect these trees to fruit?
The other question I have are citrus trees has to be grafted to produce I know that Mango Trees has to be grafted is citrus like Mango, Can I air-layer a branch from a citrus tree and make a tree without the need for grafting?
Abe

Comments (3)

• johnmerr
    11 years ago

Abe,

So many questions to ask... what rootstock are your trees grafted to? Are they inground or in containers?
    Citrus don't have to be grafted; but the best ones are.

You can produce trees from air layering; but you get a rootstock of unknown vigor, resistance, etc....not too important for container trees; but could be a real negative for inground, depending a lot on your soil type, pH, water quality, etc.

FYI, I am a one trick pony... that is I really only know a few things about Meyer lemons inground; there are many here who may give you better advice; and as always a picture is worth a thousand words.

John

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    11 years ago