Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lycheeluva

how to manually pollinate citrus

lycheeluva
16 years ago

I'm new to this- can someone explain to me how to manually pollinate citrus blooms.

I think I get the basic concept- you use a soft brush to transfer pollen from one blossom to another but I'm not sure which part of the bloom I harvest the pollen from and which part of the bloom I then deposit the pollen on. I assumed that the pollen is contained within the tiny amber sacks at the end of the white spikes. I tried gently rubbing a paint brush against the amber sack on one bloom and then rubbing it against an amber sack of a second bloom. Is this correct? Does it matter if some of the white spikes fell off the flower as I was doing this. Should I be concerned that I did not see any pollen coming off the flower onto the paintbrush?

{{gwi:653810}}

Comments (13)

• tsmith2579
    16 years ago

I only hand pollinate when the trees are in the greehouse where bees and bugs are not welcome. I use either a song bird (small) feather or a cheap small paint brush like you find in a child's paint kit or at the local drug store. I start at the top and work each flower. I try to do this once or twice a week until the blooms are gone. I always have a ton of calamondins and last year my 2 y/o Ponderosa lemon had about 50 lbs of lemons (18 fruits).

• lycheeluva
    Original Author
    16 years ago

The poster did not really answer my question- which is, is the way I described how I am manually pollinating, the correct way to manually pollinate?

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    16 years ago

The pollen grains, located in the amber sacks (called the anthers) need to be transfered to the sticky yellow surface of the stigma, which is at the top of the larger column in the middle of the flower. (Surrounded by the anthers.)